I am responsible for the death of a lamb.

At the end of last week, I bought an 80 lb lamb and watched as it was killed.

Although I have cut up part of an animal for my dinner table before, this was the first time in my adult life I experienced the whole process of taking a live animal and making it into food. My feelings are mixed. It was hard to watch it die, and I felt some sadness for its suffering, but I was also thankful that I was present to acknowledge it. Too often, we are cavalier about eating meat because we never need to experience the sacrifice.

I found I was able to continue on with the butchering in a businesslike manner – the steps of which are below.

  • kill – this was done halal style, with the throat slit from ear to ear
  • skin – peel back the skin, starting with the belly and legs
  • remove the feet
  • hang by hamstrings
  • finish removing the skin
  • remove internal organs and guts
  • cut carcass in half with a special bone saw
  • cut halves into halves to make four quarters
  • store in a refrigerator for a variable length of time to tenderize the meat
  • cut the quarters into useable cuts

I wish I had pictures of every step – but I didn’t have a camera with for the initial butchering. Dad came over and helped me finish the job, and Chris wrapped it all up in freezer paper:

Image

 

Image

 

 

Thank you Andy Hayner for your butchering expertise, and thank you lamb, for being dinner.

One Comment to “I am responsible for the death of a lamb.”

  1. Vegetarians & vegans, this post isn’t for you.
    Meat eaters, or those who support awareness about meat we eat, this post is.

Leave a comment